In the 1850s, Euroa began to grow due to traffic generated by the gold rush. Ned Kelly, Australia's best-known bushranger, roamed the ranges around Euroa, holding up the National Bank in town during 1878.
The commercial centre of Euroa stretches along part of Binney Street and Railway Street and features a number of historical buildings including the post office (built in 1890), one of the former National Bank buildings (1885), the Euroa Hotel (1884) and Blairgowrie House (1890). The first church built in Euroa was the Catholic Church in 1867.
Seven Creeks is the waterway which runs through the town centre of Euroa and is flanked on both sides by towering native trees, parkland and recreational facilities. The waterway swells near Burtons Bridge at Tarcombe Street, where there are shelters and picnic facilities. Adjacent to the park in Kirkland Avenue is the old Farmers Arms Hotel (built in 1876) which now houses the Farmers Arms Museum with its collection of local memorabilia. Within the parkland at the end of Brock Street is VC Memorial Park which features bronze statues of locals who have been the recipients of Victoria Cross awards. There is a miniature steam train operating for rides in the parkland near Turnbull Street.
Euroa is situated in a rich agricultural district which is noted for its fine wool production and thoroughbred horse industry. Being close to the Strathbogie Ranges makes Euroa a handy base for exploring the natural beauty of the area, including a number of picturesque creeks, waterfalls and tourist drives through the mountain ranges.
Around 20 kilometres south-east of Euroa, along the road to the small community of Strathbogie, is Mount Wombat. Rising to a height of 799 metres, there are panoramic views of the surrounding countryside from the peak. A few kilometres beyond Strathbogie is Polly McQuinns - a weir on Seven Creeks which resulted in the formation of a lake. It is a pleasant spot for a picnic or swimming.