Yackandandah's entire commercial centre has been classified by the National Trust and features many well-preserved buildings which date back to the mid and late 1800s during the height of the town's gold mining days. Highlights include the Athenaeum (built in 1878), the court house (1863) which is now used as a community hall, the Bank of Victoria building (1860) which now houses a museum, and the old post office (first built as a timber structure in 1856) where the local visitor information centre is located.
Deciduous trees line many of the town's streets, particularly colourful during Autumn.
Commissioners Creek runs through Yackandandah and features a number of attractions including the mineral spring accessed via Mineral Lane, and several parks and recreational facilities near Williams Street.
A interesting drive can be enjoyed along Bells Flat Road. At Crossing Place, a walking track leads to "The Gorge" which is a man-made diversion of Yackandandah Creek that allowed miners to search for gold along the original creek bed. Bells Flat Road also passes through old gold mining areas featuring shafts and diggings.
A short drive north-east of Yackandandah is the small community of Allans Flat, located in a rich agricultural area which is home to wineries and a strawberry farm. At the Allans Flat Reserve is a large lake which was originally created by gold dredging and is now a scenic spot for swimming and boating.
* All the above links are external and open up in a new window
© 2004-2013. Travel Victoria - www.travelvictoria.com.au - Victoria, Australia