Seymour's town centre was originally located on Emily Street which was the main road between Melbourne and Sydney and became particularly busy during the the gold rush days. On that road is the historic Royal Hotel (built in 1848), the old court house (built in 1864 and now the visitor information centre) and the old post office (built in 1873 and now an art gallery and restaurant).
The arrival of the railway in 1872 saw the construction of the Seymour station in Station Street and the town started to develop in this geographic area which is today the heart of Seymour's commercial centre. There are shops along one side of Station Street, with one of the oldest buildings in that street being the Terminus Hotel which was built in 1897. The other side of Station Street consists of attractive landscaped gardens along the main railway line between Melbourne and Sydney. There is also the Seymour Central Shopping Centre in Tallarook Street and a smaller local centre can be found eastwards along Anzac Avenue.
At New Crossing Place, the original site of the town on the banks of the Goulburn River, is attractive parkland, picnic grounds, a fishing platform, boat ramp and walking trails along the river. Goulburn Park which fronts a wide bend in the river at Guild Street, offers picnic facilities, BBQs, a playground and is suitable for swimming. Kings Park in Tallarook Street and Chittick Park in Pollard Street are home to many of Seymour's recreational and sporting facilities.
Seymour is located within scenic countryside, surrounded by fertile agricultural, pastoral and wine growing areas.
* All the above links are external and open up in a new window
© 2004-2014. Travel Victoria - www.travelvictoria.com.au - Victoria, Australia