Broadford is located between Melbourne and Seymour, within a rich pastoral district.
Broadford enjoyed prosperity in the 1860s when gold was discovered in Sunday Creek, while these days Broadford's major manufacturing industries include a paper mill, the Nestle food company and a Kaolin clay mine.
The town centre of Broadford is built around High Street which is lined with native trees and has a service road running along both sides. A number of shops and a supermarket make up the town centre, with the railway station and Commercial Hotel situated at the western end of town.
Broadford's history is well preserved with several parks illustrating events of years gone by. The park in front of the post office features a war memorial plus memorabilia of battles including a cannon and machine gun. The park also includes an obelisk which serves as a monument to early explorers Hume & Hovell. On the other side of High Street, between Sunday Creek and Murchison Street, are more tributes to the town's history including the Jennifer R Neill Pavilion which features old farm equipment, and an old straw boiler in the shape of a giant metal ball which was used to make paper pulp. Next to this is the Broadford Courier building which dates back to 1891 and has printing equipment on display, and the Pioneer Cottage which is a replica of a slab hut built by early settlers.
Mount Piper, just west of Broadford, offers scenic bushwalking. The Mount Disappointment State Forest, south-east of town, encompasses the Sunday Creek Reservoir and the Strath Creek Falls, offering spectacular views from the summit of the actual mountain.