As one of Victoria's oldest inland towns, Kilmore features a collection of historic buildings including the post office (built in 1863), court house (1864) and former police barracks (1892). However, one of the most striking of Kilmore's public buildings is the former town hall which was built in 1894 and features a decorative facade with enormous Corinthian pillars. The oldest surviving house in Kilmore is Whitburgh Cottage, which was constructed from bluestone in 1853. The cottage is located in Piper Street and now houses a museum which features items of 19th century culture.
Kilmore's commercial centre is built around the main thoroughfare of Sydney Street, offering a wide selection of shops, large stores, hotels and several supermarkets. The Kilmore Creek runs parallel to Sydney Street and it features parkland, shady spots and walking tracks along much of its length.
Kilmore has several major sporting facilities including a scenic golf course and a racecourse which hosts a multitude of events including the acclaimed Kilmore Pacing Cup.
The Old Kilmore Gaol, which dates back to 1859, is situated in Sutherland Street and offers guided tours with displays and memorabilia.
Monument Hill, located a few kilometres to the east of town, is a fauna and flora reserve that includes a monument to explorers Hume and Hovell in the form of a bluestone lookout tower which offers scenic views towards Kilmore and the surrounding countryside.
* All the above links are external and open up in a new window
© 2004-2014. Travel Victoria - www.travelvictoria.com.au - Victoria, Australia