Search this site
Public holidays

Public holidays

There are 13 official public holidays in Victoria each year.

Public holiday 2016 2017
New Year's Day Friday 1st January Sunday 1st January
Monday 2nd January *
Australia Day Tuesday 26th January Thursday 26th January
Labour Day Monday 14th March Monday 13th March
Good Friday Friday 25th March Friday 14th April
Easter Saturday Saturday 26th March Saturday 15th April
Easter Sunday Sunday 27th March Sunday 16th April
Easter Monday Monday 28th March Monday 17th April
ANZAC Day Monday 25th April Tuesday 25th April
Queen's Birthday Monday 13th June Monday 12th June
AFL Grand Final Eve Friday 30th September Friday 29th September
Melbourne Cup
(may be substituted)
Tuesday 1st November Tuesday 7th November
Christmas Day Sunday 25th December
Tuesday 27th December *
Monday 25th December
Boxing Day Monday 26th December Tuesday 26th December

* Denotes additional or substitute holiday date due to holiday falling during a weekend.

Substituted Melbourne Cup public holiday

Non-metropolitan councils in Victoria can opt for a different public holiday in lieu of Melbourne Cup day, which can apply either across their entire municipality or to individual towns and cities.

See the list of non-metropolitan public holidays declared in Victoria.