Search this site
Types of roads

Types of roads

"M" roads

These roads are duplicated (dual carriageway) roadways with at least two lanes in each direction. The majority of these roadways are built to freeway standard.

In rural areas, they provide high standard links between Melbourne, other capital cities and major regional centres. Within Melbourne, they are urban freeways or tollways.

"M" roads in Victoria:

  • M1 - Monash Freeway (including CityLink)
  • M1 - Princes Freeway/Highway
  • M1 - West Gate Freeway
  • M2 - Tullamarine Freeway (including CityLink)
  • M3 - Eastern Freeway
  • M3 - EastLink
  • M3 - Frankston Freeway
  • M8 - Western Freeway/Highway
  • M11 - Mornington Peninsula Freeway
  • M11 - Peninsula Link
  • M31 - Hume Freeway
  • M39 - Goulburn Valley Freeway
  • M79 - Calder Freeway
  • M80 - Metropolitan Ring Road
  • M80 - Western Ring Road
  • M420 - Bass Highway
  • M420 - South Gippsland Freeway/Highway
  • M780 - Western Port Highway

The CityLink sections of the M1 and M2, plus the EastLink section of the M3 are toll roads.

M1 West Gate Freeway
West Gate Freeway, Altona North

M80 Western Ring Road
Western Ring Road, Laverton North

Exit numbers

"M" roads in Melbourne are progressively having freeway exit numbers installed along them. This allows drivers unfamiliar with the area to easily identify exits rather than rely just on a road or suburb name. It also gives drivers a sense of how far to their required exit so they can plan lane changes well in advance.

Exit numbers increase sequentially as the distance from Melbourne's CBD increases. Exits are denoted by a number, except for those within about 15 kilometres of the city centre which have the number prefixed by the bearing of the exit in relation to the city, such as "E" for east or "W" for west.

West Gate Freeway exit numbers
West Gate Freeway, Port Melbourne

Monash Freeway exit numbers
Monash Freeway, Dandenong North

Lane restrictions

Trucks exceeding 4.5 tonnes of gross vehicle mass are banned from the furthermost right lane on a number of Victoria's freeways which carry 3 or more lanes of traffic. Buses and emergency vehicles are exempt from this ban.

Signage installed above lanes and along the median strip identify areas where this restriction applies.

Eastern Freeway truck lane ban
Eastern Freeway, Kew

"A" roads

These roads are generally single carriageway roadways. The majority of them have sealed shoulders and overtaking lanes in some sections.

They have a similar function to "M" standard roads, but generally carry less traffic. They provide high standard links between Melbourne, other capital cities and between regional centres.

"A" roads in Victoria:

  • A1 - Princes Highway
  • A8 - Western Highway
  • A10 - Princes Highway (through Geelong)
  • A20 - Sturt Highway
  • A39 - Goulburn Valley Highway
  • A79 - Calder Highway
  • A200 - Henty Highway
  • A300 - Midland Highway
  • A420 - Bass Highway
  • A440 - South Gippsland Highway
  • A780 - Western Port Highway
  • A790 - Calder Alternative Highway
A8 Western Highway
Western Highway near Stawell

A1 Princes Highway
Princes Highway near Lake Tyers

"B" roads

These roads are generally single carriageway roadways. They are sealed and are of a good standard.

They function as primary links between regions not served by "A" roads. They also include the highly significant tourist routes of the Great Ocean Road, Murray Valley Highway and the Great Alpine Road.

"B" roads in Victoria:

  • B12 - Mallee Highway
  • B23 - Monaro Highway
  • B75 - Northern Highway
  • B100 - Great Ocean Road
  • B100 - Surf Coast Highway
  • B110 - Bellarine Highway
  • B110 - Nepean Highway
  • B110 - Point Nepean Road
  • B120 - Hopkins Highway
  • B140 - Hamilton Highway
  • B160 - Glenelg Highway
  • B180 - Maroona - Glenthompson Road
  • B180 - Pyrenees Highway
  • B200 - Henty Highway
  • B210 - Stawell - Warracknabeal Road
  • B220 - Sunraysia Highway
  • B240 - Wimmera Highway
  • B260 - Loddon Valley Highway
  • B280 - McIvor Highway
  • B300 - Maroondah Highway
  • B300 - Melba Highway
  • B300 - Midland Highway
  • B320 - Maroondah Highway
  • B340 - Goulburn Valley Highway
  • B360 - Maroondah Highway
  • B380 - Warburton Highway
  • B400 - Murray Valley Highway
  • B410 - Bandiana Link Road
  • B420 - Phillip Island Road
  • B460 - Bass Highway
  • B460 - Strzelecki Highway
  • B500 - Great Alpine Road
B400 Murray Valley Highway
Murray Valley Highway near Corryong

B100 Great Ocean Road
Great Ocean Road, Skenes Creek

B240 Wimmera Highway
Wimmera Highway near Natimuk

"C" roads

These roads are generally single carriageway roadways. Almost all of them are sealed and their standard is determined by usage and terrain.

They function as important links between population centres and also provide access links to the primary road network.

Some "C" roads are former highway routes with freeway bypasses having relieved them of much of their original through traffic. A few of these former highway routes are high quality dual carriageway roads, such as the Princes Highway (C101) through Berwick and Pakenham.

There are hundreds of "C" roads throughout Victoria.

C546 Murray River Road
Murray River Road near Granya

C241 Ararat Road
Ararat - St Arnaud Road, Navarre

Melbourne metropolitan routes

These roads are located within Melbourne's metropolitan area and generally define major transport routes to the city and through the suburbs.

These routes may vary in standard from single carriageway roads to multi-lane arterials and highways.

Metropolitan route 40 Springvale Road
Springvale Road, Chelsea Heights