Yea's commercial centre straddles each side of the wide boulevard of High Street with attractive parkland located in the street's central strip. Fronting High Street between Pechell Street and The Crescent are the Yea Fountain Gardens, containing lawns, rose gardens, a large fountain and a monument to the explorers Hume & Hovell. On the southern side of adjoining Station Street is a large expanse of parkland surrounding the former Yea railway station buildings.
Originally a gold mining area, the town retains many historical buildings built in those days including Beaufort Manor (1876), Yea Shire Hall (1894), the post office (1890), several hotels and churches.
The Yea River flows around the edge of the town centre and large reserve known as the Yea Wetlands has been developed around a group of small lakes beside the river. Aptly known as Yea's best kept secret, the wetlands can be accessed either via the town centre entrance opposite the police station on the corner of High Street and Hood Street, or by driving out to the car park located off the Goulburn Valley Highway just west of Killingworth Road. There is a visitor centre and a network of walking tracks, boardwalks and bridges throughout the wetlands.
Several scenic drives can be enjoyed from Yea. The journey south-west along the Whittlesea road to the small hamlet of Flowerdale passes through farmland and rolling hills. For more dramatic scenery, take Ghin Ghin Road (west of Yea) which initially passes through grazing land and crosses the Goulburn River where there is a reserve overlooking the river and a boat ramp. Heading further north, the road ascends through scenic gorge country to a granite plateau. This road passes through what is left of the former gold mining town of Ghin Ghin, past Mt Broughton and onto the small hamlet of Caveat which was originally inhabited by Czech settlers.