State symbols

State symbols


The Victorian state flag was first designed in 1870 and revised in 1877, with the basic design remaining unchanged since.

The flag consists of three main components - the British Union Jack in the top left corner, the St Edward's Crown and five white stars which represent the Southern Cross star constellation.

Flag of Victoria
Flag of Victoria

Coat of arms

The Coat of Arms of Victoria is the state's official symbol, granted in 1910 by King George V.

The arms consists of a shield with five silver stars arranged to represent the Southern Cross star constellation, a crest featuring a kangaroo and an imperial crown, a male and female supporter, and a motto which reads "Peace and Prosperity".

Coat of Arms of Victoria
Coat of Arms of Victoria


Animal emblem

Leadbeater's possum - proclaimed 1971

Bird emblem

Helmeted honeyeater - proclaimed 1971

Floral emblem

Common pink heath - proclaimed 1958

Fossil emblem

Koolasuchus cleelandi - proclaimed 2022

Marine emblem

Weedy seadragon - proclaimed 2002

Mineral emblem

Gold - proclaimed 2012