Public holidays

Public holidays

There are 13 official public holidays in Victoria each year.

Public holiday 2024 2025
New Year's Day Monday 1st January Wednesday 1st January
Australia Day Friday 26th January Sunday 26th January
Monday 27th January *
Labour Day Monday 11th March Monday 10th March
Good Friday Friday 29th March Friday 18th April
Easter Saturday Saturday 30th March Saturday 19th April
Easter Sunday Sunday 31st March Sunday 20th April
Easter Monday Monday 1st April Monday 21st April
ANZAC Day Thursday 25th April Friday 25th April
King's Birthday Monday 10th June Monday 9th June
AFL Grand Final Eve To be announced To be announced
Melbourne Cup
(may be substituted)
Tuesday 5th November Tuesday 4th November
Christmas Day Wednesday 25th December Thursday 25th December
Boxing Day Thursday 26th December Friday 26th December

* Denotes additional or substitute holiday date due to holiday falling during a weekend or on another holiday. No substitute public holiday is provided if Anzac Day falls on a weekend.

Substituted Melbourne Cup public holiday

Non-metropolitan councils in Victoria can opt for a different public holiday in lieu of Melbourne Cup day, which can apply either across their entire municipality or to individual towns and cities.

See the list of non-metropolitan public holidays declared in Victoria.

Shopping hours during public holidays

Except for 2½ days each year, Victoria has unrestricted trading hours throughout the state. This allows businesses to open any time of the day or any day of the week, even during most public holidays.

The 2½ days each year of restricted trading are the following public holidays:

  • Good Friday
  • Christmas Day
  • Anzac Day (only up to 1pm)

On those days, only exempt shops are permitted to open. Exempt shops include chemists, petrol stations, restaurants, takeaway outlets, service providers, hire outlets and those businesses with a small number of employees.