Search this site
The land

The land

Victoria's dominant land feature is the substantial mountain formation known as the Great Dividing Range. It commences at the northern tip of Queensland and extends southwards along the entire eastern coastline of Australia. Upon reaching Victoria's eastern edge, it then heads westwards and flattens out after reaching the Grampians National Park in western Victoria.

In comparison, the north, north-west and far west of Victoria are fairly flat.

Mainland - 227,010 square kilometres
Islands - 406 square kilometres (covering 184 islands)
Combined total - 227,416 square kilometres

Public land component:
32% of Victoria's total land, consisting of state parks, national parks and other nature reserves

Mainland extremities:
North and west: Murray River at border with South Australia
South: South Point at Wilsons Promontory
East: Cape Howe at Croajingolong National Park (near Mallacoota)

Mainland - 1,868 kilometres
Islands - 644 kilometres

Largest island:
French Island (in Western Port) - 170 square kilometres

Highest mountain:
Mount Bogong (in Alpine National Park, near Mount Beauty) - 1,986 metres

Longest river:
Completely within Victoria: Goulburn River - 654 kilometres
Any part within Victoria: Murray River (also extending into NSW and SA) - 2,508 kilometres

Largest natural lake:
Lake Corangamite (a saline lake near Camperdown and Colac) - approximately 209 square kilometres

Largest natural freshwater lake:
Lake Hindmarsh (near Jeparit) - approximately 150 square kilometres

Largest constructed reservoir:
Dartmouth Dam (completed in 1979) - capacity of 3,906 gigalitres