Search this site
Public holidays

Public holidays

There are 13 official public holidays in Victoria each year.

Public holiday 2019 2020
New Year's Day Tuesday 1st January Wednesday 1st January
Australia Day Saturday 26th January
Monday 28th January *
Sunday 26th January
Monday 27th January *
Labour Day Monday 11th March Monday 9th March
Good Friday Friday 19th April Friday 10th April
Easter Saturday Saturday 20th April Saturday 11th April
Easter Sunday Sunday 21st April Sunday 12th April
Easter Monday Monday 22nd April Monday 13th April
ANZAC Day Thursday 25th April Saturday 25th April
Queen's Birthday Monday 10th June Monday 8th June
AFL Grand Final Eve Friday 27th September To be announced
Melbourne Cup
(may be substituted)
Tuesday 5th November Tuesday 3rd November
Christmas Day Wednesday 25th December Friday 25th December
Boxing Day Thursday 26th December Saturday 26th December
Monday 28th December *

* Denotes additional or substitute holiday date due to holiday falling during a weekend.

Substituted Melbourne Cup public holiday

Non-metropolitan councils in Victoria can opt for a different public holiday in lieu of Melbourne Cup day, which can apply either across their entire municipality or to individual towns and cities.

See the list of non-metropolitan public holidays declared in Victoria.