Search this site
Public holidays

Public holidays

There are 13 official public holidays in Victoria each year.

Public holiday 2018 2019
New Year's Day Monday 1st January Tuesday 1st January
Australia Day Friday 26th January Saturday 26th January
Monday 28th January *
Labour Day Monday 12th March Monday 11th March
Good Friday Friday 30th March Friday 19th April
Easter Saturday Saturday 31st March Saturday 20th April
Easter Sunday Sunday 1st April Sunday 21st April
Easter Monday Monday 2nd April Monday 22nd April
ANZAC Day Wednesday 25th April Thursday 25th April
Queen's Birthday Monday 11th June Monday 10th June
AFL Grand Final Eve Friday 28th September Friday 27th September
Melbourne Cup
(may be substituted)
Tuesday 6th November Tuesday 5th November
Christmas Day Tuesday 25th December Wednesday 25th December
Boxing Day Wednesday 26th December Thursday 26th December

* Denotes additional or substitute holiday date due to holiday falling during a weekend.

Substituted Melbourne Cup public holiday

Non-metropolitan councils in Victoria can opt for a different public holiday in lieu of Melbourne Cup day, which can apply either across their entire municipality or to individual towns and cities.

See the list of non-metropolitan public holidays declared in Victoria.