Search this site
State symbols

State symbols


Flag of Victoria

The Victorian state flag was first designed in 1870 and revised in 1877, with the basic design remaining unchanged since.

The flag consists of three main components - the British Union Jack in the top left corner, an imperial crown (currently the St Edward's Crown) and five white stars, representing the Southern Cross star constellation.

Coat of arms

Coat of Arms of Victoria

The Coat of Arms of Victoria is the state's official symbol, granted in 1910 by King George V.

The arms consists of a shield with five silver stars arranged to represent the Southern Cross star constellation, a crest featuring a kangaroo and an imperial crown, a male and female supporter, and a motto which reads "Peace and Prosperity".


Animal emblem: Leadbeater's Possum (proclaimed 1971)

Bird emblem: Helmeted Honeyeater (proclaimed 1971)

Floral emblem: Common (Pink) Heath (proclaimed 1958)

Marine emblem: Weedy Seadragon (proclaimed 2002)

Mineral emblem: Gold (proclaimed 2012)