Search this site
Time zone

Time zone

Current date and time in Victoria

Time zones in Australia

Timezones in Australia

All of Victoria operates on Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) which is 10 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

New South Wales, Queensland, Australian Capital Territory and Tasmania all share the same time zone as Victoria.

Daylight saving time

Victoria operates on daylight saving time (DST) from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April of the following year. DST is one hour ahead of AEST, or UTC+11.

Year Daylight saving time starts Daylight saving time ends
2022 / 2023 Sunday 2nd October 2022
(advance time by one hour at 2am)
Sunday 2nd April 2023
(reverse time by one hour at 3am)
2023 / 2024 Sunday 1st October 2023
(advance time by one hour at 2am)
Sunday 7th April 2024
(reverse time by one hour at 3am)

The period of daylight saving has varied considerably within Australia during the past. See the history of daylight saving time for details from 1916 to the present.

Victoria, New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, South Australia and Tasmania currently start and end daylight saving time together. Queensland, Northern Territory and Western Australia do not observe daylight saving time.