Search this site


Victoria has four road tunnels of significant length, all of which are located within the Melbourne metropolitan area. Using any of these tunnels requires the payment of a toll.

When driving in one of Melbourne's tunnels, you should:

  • Remove your sunglasses as they may hinder your ability to see in the darkened environment
  • Ensure your vehicle's headlights are turned on so that you are more visible to other motorists
  • Keep lane changes to an absolute minimum for safety
  • Obey the variable speed limit signs which may display any speed up to 80 km/h
  • Stay out of closed lanes which have an illuminated red cross displayed above them
  • Do not stop your vehicle in the tunnel except in the case of an emergency
  • If an emergency occurs and you must stop, attempt to position your vehicle in the far left or far right lane
  • Turn your radio on as any important safety or traffic announcements will be broadcast over existing station frequencies

Mobile phone coverage is available in all of Melbourne's tunnels. Relay stations have been installed, allowing Telstra, Optus and Vodafone customers to use their phones.

Domain and Burnley Tunnels

Domain Tunnel, Melbourne
Domain Tunnel entrance, Melbourne

These two tunnels are located just to the south-east of the Melbourne CBD and link the West Gate Freeway with the CityLink tolled sections of the Monash Freeway (M1).

The Domain Tunnel is 1.6 kilometres in length and carries 3 lanes of traffic citybound (west bound) under the Yarra River, Kings Domain and Southbank arts precinct.

The Burnley Tunnel is 3.4 kilometres in length and carries 3 lanes of traffic outbound (east bound) under the Southbank arts precinct, Kings Domain, Yarra River, Olympic Park and residential areas of Richmond.

Both tunnels were first open to traffic in 2000.

Driving through either the Domain or Burnley tunnels requires the payment of a toll.

Melba and Mullum Mullum Tunnels

Mullum Mullum Tunnel, Donvale
Mullum Mullum Tunnel entrance, Donvale

These two parallel tunnels are located at the northern end of EastLink (M3) in Melbourne's eastern suburbs.

Each tunnel is 1.6 kilometres in length and consists of 3 traffic lanes which burrow up to 53 metres under Mullum Mullum Park in the suburb of Donvale.

The Melba Tunnel carries citybound (west bound) traffic, while the Mullum Mullum Tunnel carries outbound (east bound) traffic.

Both tunnels were first open to traffic in 2008.

Driving through either the Melba Tunnel or Mullum Mullum Tunnel requires the payment of a toll.